Australia is the melanoma capital of the world.

Read about the work of Professors Michael Brown and Hamish Scott into new treatments for melanoma.


Cancer Research at the Hanson Institute

The Hanson Institute provides an environment and facilities for basic and clinical researchers employed by SA Pathology, the Royal Adelaide Hospital, the University of South Australia and the University of Adelaide located on the campus of SA Pathology and the Royal Adelaide Hospital.

Its primary goals are to make fundamental biological and biomedical discoveries, to provide an environment and world-class facilities necessary for conducting research at an international level, and to establish the important linkage between basic scientists and clinicians, thus facilitating the full development and application of the therapeutic potential of basic science discoveries.

Cancer Research Laboratories

LABORATORY NAME LABORATORY HEAD TELEPHONE E-MAIL
ACRF Cancer Genomics Facility Joel Geoghegan +61 8 822 23966 joel.geoghegan@sa.gov.au
Acute Leukaemia Laboratory Prof Richard D’Andrea +61 8 830 27830 richard.dandrea@unisa.edu.au
Cell Signalling Laboratory A/Prof Yeesim Khew-Goodall +61 8 830 27741 yeesim.khew-goodall@unisa.edu.au
Cytokine Receptor Laboratory Prof Angel Lopez +61 8 830 27915 angel.lopez@health.sa.gov.au
Dame Roma Mitchell Cancer Research Laboratories Prof Wayne Tilley +61 8 831 37861 wayne.tilley@adelaide.edu.au
drmcrl.cancer.research@adelaide.edu.au
Detmold Family Trust Cell Imaging Centre Kate Pilkington +61 8 830 27469 katherine.pilkington@unisa.edu.au
Experimental Therapeutics and Translational Oncology Laboratory Prof Michael Brown +61 8 8302 9246 michael.brown@health.sa.gov.au
Gastrointestinal Research Laboratory A/Prof Andrew Ruszkiewicz +61 8 813 32277 andrew.ruszkiewicz@health.sa.gov.au
Gene Regulation Laboratory Prof Greg Goodall +61 8 830 27751 greg.goodall@unisa.edu.au
Leukemia Unit Research A/Prof Susan Branford +61 8 822 23899 susan.branford@health.sa.gov.au
Lymphatic Development Laboratory A/Prof Natasha Harvey +61 8 830 27835 natasha.harvey@unisa.edu.au
Molecular Pathology Laboratory Prof Hamish Scott +61 8 822 23651 hamish.scott@sa.gov.au
Molecular Regulation Laboratory Prof Sharad Kumar +61 8 830 27918 sharad.kumar@unisa.edu.au
Molecular Signalling Laboratory Prof Stuart Pitson +61 8 830 27832 stuart.pitson@unisa.edu.au
Mucositis Research Laboratory Prof Dorothy Keefe +61 8 822 23261 emma.bateman@adelaide.edu.au
Myelodysplastic Syndrome Research Group Dr Devendra Hiwase +61 8 822 23369 devendra.hiwase@health.sa.gov.au
Tumor Microenvironment Laboratory Dr Michael Samuel +61 8 830 27990 michael.samuel@unisa.edu.au
Vascular Biology and Cell Trafficking Laboratory A/Prof Claudine Bonder +61 8 830 27833 claudine.bonder@unisa.edu.au

 

To support Cancer Research at the Hanson Institute, please contact the Royal Adelaide Hospital Research Fund.