Australia is the melanoma capital of the world.

Read about the work of Professors Michael Brown and Hamish Scott into new treatments for melanoma.


Cancer Research at the Hanson Institute

The Hanson Institute provides an environment and facilities for basic and clinical researchers employed by SA Pathology, the Royal Adelaide Hospital, the University of South Australia and the University of Adelaide located on the campus of SA Pathology and the Royal Adelaide Hospital.

Its primary goals are to make fundamental biological and biomedical discoveries, to provide an environment and world-class facilities necessary for conducting research at an international level, and to establish the important linkage between basic scientists and clinicians, thus facilitating the full development and application of the therapeutic potential of basic science discoveries.

Cancer Research Laboratories

LABORATORY NAME LABORATORY HEAD TELEPHONE E-MAIL
ACRF Cancer Genomics Facility Joel Geoghegan +61 8 822 23966 joel.geoghegan@health.sa.gov.au
Acute Leukaemia Laboratory Prof Richard D’Andrea +61 8 822 23636 richard.dandrea@health.sa.gov.au
Cancer Therapeutics Laboratory Prof David Callen +61 8 822 23217 david.callen@adelaide.edu.au
Cell Signalling Laboratory A/Prof Yeesim Khew-Goodall +61 8 822 23410 yeesim.khew-goodall@health.sa.gov.au
Cytokine Receptor Laboratory Prof Angel Lopez +61 8 822 23422 angel.lopez@health.sa.gov.au
Dame Roma Mitchell Cancer Research Laboratories Prof Wayne Tilley +61 8 822 23225 wayne.tilley@health.sa.gov.au
drmcrl.cancer.research@adelaide.edu.au
Detmold Family Trust Cell Imaging Centre Kate Pilkington +61 8 822 23322 katherine.pilkington@health.sa.gov.au
Experimental Therapeutics and Translational Oncology Laboratory Prof Michael Brown +61 8 822 24157 michael.brown@health.sa.gov.au
Gastrointestinal Research Laboratory A/Prof Andrew Ruszkiewicz +61 8 822 23292 andrew.ruszkiewicz@health.sa.gov.au
Gene Regulation Laboratory Prof Greg Goodall +61 8 822 23430 greg.goodall@health.sa.gov.au
Haematology Research Dr Agnes Yong +61 8 822 23421 agnes.yong@health.sa.gov.au
Leukemia Unit Research A/Prof Susan Branford +61 8 822 23899 susan.branford@health.sa.gov.au
Lymphatic Development Laboratory A/Prof Natasha Harvey +61 8 822 23569 natasha.harvey@health.sa.gov.au
Mast Cell Laboratory A/Prof Michele Grimbaldeston +61 8 822 23083 michele.grimbaldeston@health.sa.gov.au
Molecular Pathology Laboratory Prof Hamish Scott +61 8 822 23651 hamish.scott@health.sa.gov.au
Molecular Regulation Laboratory Prof Sharad Kumar +61 8 822 23738 sharad.kumar@health.sa.gov.au
Molecular Signalling Laboratory Prof Stuart Pitson +61 8 822 23472 stuart.pitson@health.sa.gov.au
Mucositis Research Laboratory Prof Dorothy Keefe +61 8 822 23261 emma.bateman@adelaide.edu.au
Myelodysplastic Syndrome Research Group Dr Devendra Hiwase +61 8 822 23369 devendra.hiwase@health.sa.gov.au
Tumor Microenvironment Laboratory Dr Michael Samuel +61 8 822 23356 michael.samuel@health.sa.gov.au
Vascular Biology and Cell Trafficking Laboratory A/Prof Claudine Bonder +61 8 822 23504 claudine.bonder@health.sa.gov.au

 

To support Cancer Research at the Hanson Institute, please contact the Royal Adelaide Hospital Research Fund.